

Cleveland State Law Review

Volume 2 | Issue 2 Article

1953

Cleveland-Marshall Law School, The History of Cleveland-Marshall Law School

Cleveland-Marshall Law Review

Follow this and additional works at: https://engagedscholarship.csuohio.edu/clevstlrev



Part of the Legal Education Commons

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Recommended Citation

2(2) Clev.Marshall L.Rev.127(1953)

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Journals at EngagedScholarship@CSU. It has been accepted for inclusion in Cleveland State Law Review by an authorized editor of EngagedScholarship@CSU. For more information, please contact library.es@csuohio.edu.

THE CLEVELAND MARSHALL LAW SCHOOL

On June 24, 1946, The Cleveland-Marshall Law School was established as a consolidation of The Cleveland Law School and The John Marshall School of Law. One of the largest law schools in the country, it enables students to achieve a legal education by attending evening classes. Today The Cleveland-Marshall Law School, a vital institution of advanced study in a dynamic community, is fulfilling the basic purposes that motivated the original founders of the constituent schools.

The Cleveland Law School.

In 1897, Willis Vickery, Judge Arthur Rowley and Judge Charles Bentley, with the cooperation and assistance of leading members of the bar, formed the Baldwin University Law School. In 1899 it was incorporated under the name of The Cleveland Law School as the law department of Baldwin-Wallace College and gained recognition as the first evening law school in Ohio and the first law school in the state to admit women students.

Willis Vickery, later a Judge of the Court of Appeals of Cuyahoga County, played a leading role in The Cleveland Law School's development. He served the school successively as faculty member, Manager and Dean. Upon his death in 1932, he was succeeded by his son, Melville W. Vickery.

In 1937, Lee E. Skeel, now Judge of the Court of Appeals, became Dean of the School. Eight years later Judge Skeel was elected President and Wilson G. Stapleton succeeded to the office of Dean.

The John Marshall School of Law.

The John Marshall School of Law was established in 1916, by Alfred A. Benesch, Frank T. Cullitan and David C. Meck, Sr., as an affiliate of Ohio Northern University. This affiliation was terminated eight years later when the school was authorized to confer degrees in its own name.

David C. Meck, Sr., who later became a Judge of the Municipal Court of Cleveland, fostered the development of The John Marshall School of Law. Judge Meck also served as a member

of the faculty and as Dean until his death in 1939, when he was succeeded by his son, David C. Meck, Jr., now a Judge of the Cleveland Municipal Court.

The Cleveland-Marshall Law School.

The Cleveland-Marshall Law School has continued the policy of its predecessors, selecting for its faculty prominent judges and practicing attorneys of stature in each phase of the Law, so that instruction to the student may encompass practical applications as well as fundamental principles of Law.

Graduates and faculty members of Cleveland-Marshall have achieved distinction in the fields of commerce, industry and civic affairs. The school has been honored to have its graduates serve as Judges of the Federal District Court, Supreme Court of Ohio, Court of Appeals, and Municipal and Common Pleas Courts. A recital of positions attained would also include governor, congressman, presidential advisor, bank president, educator and other leaders in civic life.

Serving the State and its Bar by teaching the nature and function of the Law—how it is comprehended, evaluated and shaped to meet the needs of modern life—The Cleveland-Marshall Law School takes pride in offering an extensive legal education to students who are preparing for the practice of law or who desire to use legal training as an auxiliary to other chosen vocations.