Document Type


Publication Date

Winter 1-1-2005


This brief is the first release of a quarterly publication that will provide a broad overview of employment and wage trends for Northeast Ohio (NEO). Its objective is to provide a quick, current, and informative report of the region’s jobs. NEO is defined as a 14-county area, which is composed of four metro areas – Cleveland, Akron, Canton, and Youngstown – and three additional adjacent counties (Ashtabula, Columbiana, and Wayne). This brief begins with longer-term analysis followed by short-term trends from the year 2000 using the 20 two-digit industrial sectors of the North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS).