Document Type


Publication Date



This brief is a second release of a publication that provides a broad overview of employment and wage trends for Northeast Ohio (NEO). It updates the first brief with data for the first quarters of 2004 and 2005. Its objective is to provide a quick, current, and informative report on the region’s economy. NEO is defined as a 14-county area composed of four metro areas – Cleveland, Akron, Canton, and Youngstown – and three additional adjacent counties (Ashtabula, Columbiana, and Wayne). This brief begins with longer-term analysis from 1993 followed by short-term trends from the first quarter of 2003 through the first quarter of 2005.